The Evils of Video-Chat

January 30, 2011 at 12:26 am 2 comments

Oh Kati…. This post is especially for you 😉

Be Careful...

Let me start off by saying that I am sometimes enamored with technology. I love the fact that I can feel like I’ve hung out with both Mandi, in China, and Kati, in Tallahassee all in one day. Long conversations I can actually see the persons face are so GREAT! It’s much better than a phone call, and makes the vast geographical distance between us feel small again.

All of that being said….

If one decides to bake potatoes and squash for dinner, but then also decides to take advantage of this great technology and video-chat, a timer should then be set. Whatever you do, do not think to yourself that you should just mention to your beloved cousin (whom you are chatting with) to remind you to check the oven at 8:00. First you will forget to mention to her that you need a reminder… and then you will forget you were cooking anything at all. You won’t remember until you get up from the computer two and a half  hours later and think to yourself with a sort of perplexity “Did my roommate come home? It smells like cooking food..?” and then all at once it will hit you that the smell that is now wafting through the house, up the stairs and has reached your bedroom is indeed YOUR food. And I think the picture tells pretty much the rest of what you might find at 10:30.

a sad day

Of course none of you would ever let yourselves get distracted so…. But don’t say I didn’t warn you when a perfectly good butternut squash falls victim. 😉

PS – Now my house smells absolutely lovely, as I’m sure you can imagine. And I think the only think that saved the squash from being like the onion (it’s the thing that looks like a big piece of charcoal in the top of the picture) is the inch of water that was in pan at one time.

PSS – Contrary to what my only two post might portray; I promise I am actually a pretty good cook.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Friday Night Casualties: A Gory Tale Brrrrrrrr

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mandi  |  February 10, 2011 at 9:10 am

    BAHAHA! Ohhhhh poor sweet potatoes and squash! What a sad day indeed! But it made for a funny story 🙂 And I love the way you write Ginnie 🙂 So vivid detail and makes the story come to life. Comical!
    (At the expense of your poor tasty food)

    Reply
  • 2. Virginia  |  February 10, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    poor sweet potatoes and squash indeed! thanks for the compliment on writing 🙂 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


You can "subscribe" to this and get an email notification when I post something new... then you wouldn't have to check back constantly waiting on the edge of your seat for new post (because I know thats what you would be doing!) ;)

Join 4 other followers

Archives


