Everyone loves Mom’s BANANA NUT BREAD!

February 12, 2011 at 1:06 am 3 comments

Anytime you pull a recipe card out of your mom’s cookbook that looks like this; you know its gotta be good. I love the feeling of just good ol’ home-made cooking that this card embodies. The two different handwritings (one from my Aunt Gretchen, and one from my mom), and all of the stains show to was well used and well loved. A recipe card like this holds a character of its own.

I sought this recipe out the other night because we had some bananas that were rapidly “going to the other side”. Knowing how long this bread usually takes to cook, I got up early to cook it but decided to try something different. Instead of using loaf pans, like mom always did, I used an oversized muffin pan (more like a pop-over than cupcakes).

It worked so great! I cut the cook time from 1 HOUR (goodness that’s a long time for my short patience with cooking) to 25 minutes! But next time I will probably only bake for 20 minutes because although they weren’t burnt, they could be a little less dry on the edges. I seriously like the muffin size though- they are so cute and convenient. I’ve been taking one to work in the mornings. And Taylor (my roommate) has been eating them too! I told her it was really a compliment that she kept eating them day after day, because it’s one thing for me to eat my own cooking but when someone wants to, it makes a big difference.

See, I told you I actually could cook. Cheers and good morning!

PS- It was so easy- you should try it and tell me if you make improvements. On 3 of the muffins I sprinkled a few mini chocolate chips…mmmm. Need I say more?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Brrrrrrrr muffins and more

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. G.  |  February 13, 2011 at 6:47 am

    good job.

    Reply
  • 2. Hunter  |  February 14, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    I don’t get one!?

    Reply
    • 3. Virginia  |  February 14, 2011 at 4:04 pm

      😦 all gone! i made them a week ago and ate the last one this morning…… plussssssss i don’t know what you’re talkin about because i saw mom making banana nut bread last night – with pecans she just cracked…. so don’t think i’m about to start feeling guilty 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


You can "subscribe" to this and get an email notification when I post something new... then you wouldn't have to check back constantly waiting on the edge of your seat for new post (because I know thats what you would be doing!) ;)

Join 4 other followers

Archives


